County Cricket Champions

Both the Year 7 and Year 8 cricket teams became Champions of Middlesex in an exciting end to the School year.

The Year 8 team secured a five-wicket victory against Hampton School to become Champions of Middlesex. The outstanding performances in the county cup final game played at The John Lyon School in Harrow were from captain Chandi Uduwawala, who made 56, and Sarim Jafri, who took three wickets in a single over.

The following night, it was the turn of the Year 7 team to shine as they triumphed, once again over Hampton School, at the U12 Middlesex Final at Southgate Cricket Club’s Walker Ground. The QE team allowed the opposition to amount a large score of 160 runs for 7 wickets in their 30 overs. However, an excellent opening partnership of 81 runs from batsman Aniruddh Raghu (41) and Nikhil Patel (40) laid the foundations for an excellent win, reports Head of PE Peter Coke. “A special mention must go to the Year 7 cricket Captain Sebastian Feszczur-Hatchett as he continued the good work done by Patel and Raghu and scored an excellent 47. The final score meant that QE had chased down 160 runs and won by 6 wickets.

“These two wins represent a fantastic effort by all the boys and staff involved and an excellent way to round off our sporting year,” concluded Mr Coke.

To view these photographs, click on one of the thumbnails to start a slideshow.

"" "" "" ""

"" "" ""