OE Cricket Club 75th anniversary: match report

OE Cricket Club 75th anniversary: match report

Old boys of the School took on present pupils in a specially arranged match this month to launch the week-long celebrations of the 75th anniversary of the Old Elizabethans Cricket Club.

The Past team batted first and put in a strong showing, declaring on 253 for 2. Paul Lissowski (OE 2002-2009) was bowled out for 88, Nick Jones (OE 1997-2004) was caught for 60 runs and Yash Zaveri (OE 1999-2006) was 62 not out.

Captained by Richard Wells, the Past team also included OEs Peter Bush (1969-1976), Daren Norris (1977-1984), Barry Milligan (1972-1979), Matt Sears (2007-2014) and Jayaram Raghuveer (2007-2014), together with club players Saqib Parkar and James Fitzgerald.

The Present team then batted and scored 180 for 6, so the match was drawn. Rohan Radia reached his half-century (51), Milan Pindoria was 41 not out and Omar Mohamed scored 35.

Old Elizabethans Cricket Club was formed in 1940 and is based at the Old Elizabethans Memorial Playing Fields in Mays Lane. It has grown in size over recent years to include a thriving colts section, a ladies section and several adult teams, which play on Saturdays and Sundays.

The club achieved the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Clubmark in 2008 and has also been awarded ECB Focus Club status, which reflects its commitment to providing a high-quality, welcoming environment for young players, as well as its strong, established links with local schools, businesses and the surrounding community.

  • Rain in the afternoon of Founder’s Day forced the abandonment of this year’s Stanley Busby Memorial Match between an OE team and the School XI before a result could be recorded. Earlier, many alumni turned out for the OE buffet lunch in the Main Hall, to which all old boys are invited. Attendees included distinguished retired diplomat and former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sussex, Sir Leslie Fielding (OE 1943-1951).