Whilst the Governing Body is drawn from different parts of the Elizabethan community, all governors have a duty to work towards the best outcomes for pupils – a responsibility taken very seriously.

Under the School’s Articles of Association, revised in November 2020, the Governing Body is presently made up of 13 Governors in the following categories. Up to:

  • 6 Governors appointed by the Members
  • 4 Community Governors appointed by the Board
  • 2 Parent Governors (elected)
  • The Headmaster

All Governors serve a four year term of office (with the exception of the Headmaster, who remains a Governor ex officio for as long as he is in post).

Records of the current governors’ terms of office, and those of governors who have served at any time within the previous 12 months, can be found below.

Mrs E. Aghdiran, MBA Member appointed November 2024 2020
Mr M.H.S. Bradish, FCA, FCIArb (OE) [Retired when term ended in August 2023] Member appointed August 2023 [Retired] 2005
Mr D. Burton FCA, BA, (OE) Member appointed September 2027 2023
Mr H. Dave CSci, CBio, MRSB Parent Governor May 2025 2021
Mr K. Dewnani MEng, GMICE, MAPM (OE) Community Governor September 2027 2023
Mr N. Enright, MA, MBA, NPQH, FRSA
Ex officio Ongoing 2011
Mr D. Farrer, MA, QC (OE) Community Governor November 2025 2013
Mrs J. Ferguson Community Governor November 2027 1994
Mr A.N. Gaskell, ACA
Community Governor March 2026 1998
Mr E. Houston, BA Member appointed August 2027 2008
Mr S. Jana, BCom Parent Governor May 2025 2021
Mr D.T. Lowen, MA, FRSA (OE) Member appointed October 2027 2019
Mr B.R. Martin, MBE, FRICS, IRRV [Retired August 2023] Community Governor November 2023 [Retired August 2023] 1989
Mr C.W. Price, BA, PGDipEdLaw, NPQH Member appointed November 2024 1988
Mr N. Raval, BA, DipArch, ARB (Vice-Chair) Member appointed February 2028 2003

Clerk: Mr M.T. Rose, MA (OE)
Company Secretary: Ms T.W. O’Reilly BEng

There are also five Members of the Academy Trust. They protect the long-term interests of the School and are the only people who can amend the Articles of Association. They also appoint up to six governors, review the effectiveness of the Governing Body and appoint the external auditors each year. They are:

  • Mr Tony Binstock (appointed by other Members in November 2020)
  • Mr Nick Gaskell (original signatory from academy conversion in 2010)
  • Mrs Maureen Hooley (appointed by other Members in November 2020)
  • Mr Barrie Martin (original signatory from academy conversion in 2010)
  • Mr Daren Norris (successor to original signatory, appointed March 2020)